No Smoking

The smokers area at uni
Is underneath two trees
Every time I go there
I get covered in sticky bugs
They’re everywhere
My clothes
my hair
my notebook
They show up unexpected
Naively irritating like a small child asking why
Which is a real problem because I can’t ignore them
Or just brush them off
I’m a vegan
I can’t kill them
while I’m trying to drink my coffee or catch up on readings
Or watching other first years lost
Or soak up some sun
These pesky little miracles are constantly reminding me that they’re alive
And that I think that’s precious
Worth savouring
Like my cigarette

Leave a Reply

