Storm

There is passion in lightning
My chest is expanding with it
I feel like there isn’t enough oxygen
I feel the tremors long before it hits
Some primal instinct whispering…
Yes.

There is emptiness in lightning
It seems only the desperate warning
A second before the beast is woken

Thunder
Roll through me
Move
My
Bones

I am spasmodically shaking in anticipation
I am a dog barking mad
I am standing tip toes over cliff edge
I am feverish
Knife eyed and furious
I am standing in the sea again
Screaming at the waves
Daring them to rear their heads
and crash
like they mean it.

And when in does
When thunder roars
I howl canine and triumphant too
In tortured shriek
In gorgeous agony
In orgiastic gasp

I am left humid
Panting
Spent
And the storm rolls on.

Leave a Reply

